Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting awk: Print fields between two delimiters on separate lines and send to variables Post 302685003 by tay9000 on Friday 10th of August 2012 01:16:45 PM
Old 08-10-2012
Below is my entire script. Yes, I am aware it is highly inefficient but I am a newbie and so far have just been writing very dirty scripts that get the job done. This script is going to go through about 600 files per day. Right now it is just echoing out all of the lines that I need. My idea with the variables was for the script to create a file inside of the $WorkingDir for each email address it finds and then write the lines I am echoing into each appropriate files based on the emails addresses the message is for. I haven't figured out the code to do this yet. I need to figure out how to extract those email addresses first! I did not try after your last post but now since I know how to pipe the email content to awk -f env.awk I think I could get further than before. Thank you. At first I was using the $To variable to get the addresses but then I noticed it was only getting the first line's worth of addresses. And then after banging my head on the keyboard enough, I came here.
Code:
#!/usr/local/bin/bash
# Variables
SpamDir='/home/tay/spam'
CurrentLine='0'
MaxLines=`ls $SpamDir/*.gz | wc -l`
WorkingDir='/tmp/spam-summary'

cd $SpamDir

# Variable Control
function VariableControl() {
CurrentLine=$(expr $CurrentLine + 1)
Mail=`ls *.gz | head -$CurrentLine | tail -1`
#MailConent=`zgrep $Mail`
From=`zgrep $Mail -e 'X-Envelope-From:' | awk '{print $2}' | sed 's/<//g;s/>//g'`
To=`zgrep $Mail -e 'X-Envelope-To:' | awk 'FS=":" {print $2}' | sed 's/<//g;s/>//g;s/,//g'`
Subject=`zgrep $Mail -e 'Subject:' | awk '{$1=""; print $0}'`
Score=`zgrep $Mail -e 'X-Spam-Score:' | awk '{print $2}'`
TimeEpoch=`ls -lh -D %s $Mail | awk '{print $6}'`; TimeHuman=`date -r $TimeEpoch +"%Y-%m-%d %l:%M %p"`
ID=`ls -lh $Mail | awk '{print $9}'`
RunControl
}

# AddQuery