Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Red Hat Unable to install 32 bit application on 64 bit OS Post 302684531 by poga on Thursday 9th of August 2012 05:56:19 PM
Old 08-09-2012
Unable to install 32 bit application on 64 bit OS

Hi,

I am new to Linux OS. My question is that "is it possible to install 32 Bit application on 64 Bit OS?"
I have the following Redhat OS on VMware workstation.
OS - Red Hat Enterprise Linux Server release 6.2 | 2.6.32-220.el6.x86_64

While installing the application I am getting the following error.
Code:
Error -
: /lib/ld-linux.so.2: bad ELF interpreter: No such file or directory

Steps taken - Tried to install glibc-devel-2.1.3-15.i386.rpm
Error -
Code:

[root@localhost local]# ls -lart glibc-devel-2.1.3-15.i386.rpm
-rw-r--r--. 1 root root 8437424 Aug  9 22:01 glibc-devel-2.1.3-15.i386.rpm
[root@localhost local]# yum install glibc-devel-2.1.3-15.i386
Loaded plugins: product-id, refresh-packagekit, security, subscription-manager
Updating certificate-based repositories.
Setting up Install Process
No package glibc-devel-2.1.3-15.i386 available.
Error: Nothing to do
[root@localhost local]#

Kindly help.

---------- Post updated at 03:26 AM ---------- Previous update was at 02:42 AM ----------

Got the answer ...

IBM Unable to install Installation Manager on RHEL 6.0/6.1 (64-bit) - United States

5 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

copying or concatinating string from 1st bit, leaving 0th bit

Hello, If i have 2 strings str1 and str2, i would like to copy/concatenate str2 to str1, from 1st bit leaving the 0th bit. How do i do it? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jazz
2 Replies

2. Gentoo

compiling 32 bit application on 64 bit linux(x86_64)