Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting a cut-command or special format pattern in awk Post 302682509 by IMPe on Monday 6th of August 2012 10:50:22 AM
Old 08-06-2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by in2nix4life
Code:
echo "2012" | awk '{printf "%02d\n", substr($0,2)}'

THANK YOU, it is working properly!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk,cut fields by change field format

Hi Everyone, # cat 1.txt 1321631,77770132976455,19,20091001011859,20091001011907 1321631,77770132976455,19,20091001011859,20091001011907 1321631,77770132976455,19,20091001011859,20091001011907 # cat 1.txt | awk -F, '{OFS=",";print $1,$3,$4,$5}' 1321631,19,20091001011859,20091001011907... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: jimmy_y
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk search pattern with special characters passed from CL

I'm very new to awk and sed and I've been struggling with this for a while. I'm trying to search a file for a string with special characters and this string is a command line argument to a simple script. ./myscript "searchpattern" file #!/bin/sh awk "/$1/" $2 > dupelistfilter.txt sed... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: cue
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sed or awk : pattern selection based on special characters

Hello All, I am here again scratching my head on pattern selection with special characters. I have a large file having around 200 entries and i have to select a single line based on a pattern. I am able to do that: Code: cat mytest.txt | awk -F: '/myregex/ { print $2}' ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: usha rao
6 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

awk command in special character

Hi, I want to add below line after end of a file (i.e file1) &&echo "copy done" >> out.txt cat file1 scp user1@server1:/tmp/dir /tmp/dir1 my requirment is cat file1 scp user1@server1:/tmp/dir /tmp/dir1 &&echo "copy done" >> out.txt could any one please help me (7 Replies)