Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Formating variables in KSH
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Formating variables in KSH Post 302681287 by RudiC on Friday 3rd of August 2012 05:48:31 AM
Old 08-03-2012
Try embedding your output in Escape sequences. A good starting point for info might be man console_codes

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

variables in ksh

I'm new to unix scripting. How would I go about pulling the first 3 characters from a variable in ksh and storing in another variable? Thanks. (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: steve6368
9 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

executing variables in ksh scripts?

In a ksh script on an AIX box running a jillion oracle database processes, I'm setting a variable to one of two possible arguments, depending on cmd line arguments. FINDIT="ps -ef | grep oracle | grep DBexport | grep rshrc" -or- FINDIT="ps -ef | grep oracle | grep prod | grep runback" I... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: zedmelon
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Getting pathname variables with ksh

With C Shell you can get the root, head, tail and extension of a pathname by using pathname variable modifiers. Example Script: #! /bin/csh set pathvar=/home/WSJ091305.txt echo $pathvar:r echo $pathvar:h echo $pathvar:t echo $pathvar:e The result of executing this script is: ... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: BCarlson
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

read values from ps -ef into variables in ksh?

Hi, I want to get the first two items returned by ps -ef into two variables? Can anyone please help Thanks (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: JamesByars
8 Replies

5. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Ksh - Env. Variables ??