Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Howto add a constant column to the text file Post 302676703 by angel12345 on Wednesday 25th of July 2012 04:24:23 AM
Old 07-25-2012
Cna you please explain me this?

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to insert some constant text at beginig of each line within a text file.

Dear Folks :), I am new to UNIX scripting and I do not know how can I insert some text in the first column of a UNIX text file at command promtp. I can do this in vi editor by using this command :g/^/s//BBB_ e,g I have a file named as Test.dat and it containins below text: michal... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Muhammad Afzal
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Add new column in Text File

I have one text file which is result of bdf command that have 6 fields separated by space and I want to add one new column in the beginning which is the name of the server because I have to insert whole thing into oracle table consisting of 7 fields THis is not a complete list but it looks... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: pareshan
9 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

how I can add a constant to a field without changing the file format

Hi, I need to edit a file Protein Data Bank (pdb) and then open that file with the program VMD but when I edit the file with awk, it changes pdb format and the VMD program can not read it. I need to subtract 34 to field 6 ($ 6). this is a pdb file : ATOM 918 N GLY B 103 -11.855 8.675... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: bio_
8 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how to add a constant value to a column in a file using unix command

I have a file like this 1 chr1 3661579 3662579 2 chr1 4350395 4351395 3 chr1 4399322 4400322 4 chr1 4486494 4487494 5 chr1 4775807 4776807 6 chr1 4775807 4776807 7 chr1 4775807 4776807 8 chr1 4796973 4797973 9 chr1 4846774 4847774... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sunsnow86
3 Replies