Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Find and copy files based on todays date and search for a particular string Post 302672853 by mail.chiranjit on Tuesday 17th of July 2012 05:54:36 AM
Old 07-17-2012
Question Find and copy files based on todays date and search for a particular string

Hi All,
I am new to shell srcipting.

Problem :

I need to write a script which copy the log files from /prod/logs directory based on todays date like (Jul 17) and place it to /home/hzjnr0 directory and then search the copied logfiles for the string "@ending successfully on Thu Jul 17". If this string is not found then a mail will be sent to specific user.

The logs are generated everyday in a /prod/logs directory location and with datestamp like (Jul 10).

Can anyone suggest any logic to implement this?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Copy files based on modification date

How to copy files from a location to a directory <YYMM> based on last modification date? This will need to run daily. I want to copy those file for May to 0905 and Jun to 0906. Appreciate your guidance.:) Thanks. -rw-rw-rw- 1 ttusr tgrp 4514 May 29 21:49 AB24279J.lot_a... (17 Replies)
Discussion started by: KhawHL
17 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Copy files based on date

Hi all i am having so many files in my directory.Is there any option to copy files based on date. example i am having file this -rw-rw-r-- 1 ram user 1 Feb 2 17:12 abc -rw-rw-r-- 1 ram user 1 Feb 2 17:12 bnw -rwxrwxr-x 1 ram user 21122 Feb 4... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: suryanarayana
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Find files having todays date and hostname in its name.