Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Inserting a new line into an already existing file Post 302667403 by hemalathak10 on Friday 6th of July 2012 08:26:46 AM
Old 07-06-2012
Java Inserting a new line into an already existing file

hello ..

I am new to perl scripting, I have a text file, and would like to insert 3 new lines into the same file at different line numbers using perl scripting. Any Help regarding this will be very useful.

say the file is sample.txt, contents are

Code:
aaaaa
bbbb
ccccc
dddd
eeeee
ffffffff
ggggg

now i want to insert 3 new lines into the file, it should be as follows

Code:
aaaaa
bbbb
ccccc
dddd
eeeee
ffffffff
ggggg

Thanks in advance

Last edited by Scrutinizer; 07-06-2012 at 09:52 AM.. Reason: code tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Print one line of Existing File

Hi all, I need to know what command/s I can use to print lines from a file. I cannot do pattern matching, so grepping for a string is not possible. I'd like to say "print line 3" etc. Any ideas? Ta. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: danhodges99
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Inserting Date&Time Stamp In Existing Log File

I am trying to insert a line with a date stamp in a file that is used to monitor activity in one of our directories. By doing this, I want to grep that file each day and go to the last entry for each time a error occurred and pull all errors generated if any exist. If error exists I want that error... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: shephardfamily
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Inserting New Line in File using Sed ??

Dear All, I have a file called football where i have a list of 11 players each on different lines. I wish to add a name of another player on the first line. I have created a file called footballscript in vi writing the following sed command to achieve this ... cat football | sed -e '1 i\... (4 Replies)