Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help with merging two CSV files Post 302665695 by bartus11 on Tuesday 3rd of July 2012 04:06:23 AM
Old 07-03-2012
Try:
Code:
awk -F, 'NR==FNR{for (i=3;i<=NF;i++) a[$1","$2]=a[$1","$2]","$i;next}{$0=$0""a[$1","$2]}1' file1.txt file2.txt

This User Gave Thanks to bartus11 For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

merging CSV data using a one liner from shell?

I'm trying to merge multiple CSV (comma separated value) files into one large master file. All files have a field that is unique to act as the key for entry/merging into the master file & and all files have the same number of fields that are in the master file. I'll give an example here: ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jjinca
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Merging 2 .CSV files in Unix

I need a little help as I am a complete novice at scripting in unix. However, i am posed with an issue...:eek: i have two csv files in the following format@ FILE1.CSV: HEADER HEADER Header , , HEADER 001X ,,200 002X ,,300 003X ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: chachabronson
6 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Merging Non-Empty Columns within a CSV

I am trying to place all my data in a single row (order doesn't matter). Note I am a Unix novice, so please go easy on me. Here is an example Raw data: row# (1) 45 64 23 (2) 32 1 6 56 (3) 32 45 Needs to be like this: row# (1) 45 (2) 32 (3) 32 ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: mmann1123
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Merging files to create CSV file

Hi, I have different files of the same type, as: Time: 100 snr: 88 perf: 10 other: 222 Each of these files are created periodically. What I need to do is to merge all of them into one but having the following form: (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Ravendark
2 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers