Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers How to change sequence name in along fasta file? Post 302663215 by baika on Wednesday 27th of June 2012 05:31:24 PM
Old 06-27-2012
How to change sequence name in along fasta file?

Hi
I have an alignment file (.fasta) with ~80 sequences. They look like this-

>JV101.contig00066(+):25302-42404|sequence_index=0|block_index=4|species=JV101|JV101_4_0

GAGGTTAATTATCGATAACGTTTAATTAAAGTGTTTAGGTGTCATAATTT
TAAATGACGATTTCTCATTACCATACACCTAAATTATCATCAATCTGAAT
TCAGATGTTTATTATAAAAATTAGATGAAAAATATGTTAATATACAAGTA

>JV501.contig00066(+):24356-42404|sequence_index=0|block_index=4|species=JV501|JV501_4_0
AATGACGATTTAGATGAAAAATAT...

The name of the sequences are too big and I want to just keep JV101, JV501 and delete rest of the words after the dot. I am new to unix, please suggest an easy unix command to do this.

Thanks

Baika

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

how to change the boot sequence?

Hi all, I have solaris and xp installed... Usually solaris occupies the first boot slot. So i wanted to know if it is possible to change the boot sequence to xp first and then solaris? (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: wrapster
5 Replies

2. Red Hat

change the shutdown sequence in red hat linux

Hi, I use red hat linux kernel 2.6 I want to add the application shutdown in shutdown sequence . I add the K script in /etc/rc.d/ all sub directory for all running level . But the auto shutdown application is not appear when I type "shutdown -r now" .. There is no indication the application... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: chuikingman
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to change strt-up sequence of services on SLES10/11

Hi All, I want to change the start-up sequence of services on SLES10/11. I have my own start-up scripts for some services and I want them to start in a particular order(not in alphabetical order) Can anyone help me on this issue? (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: senrooy