Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Unix vs linux in the job place and other questions Post 302662315 by vbe on Tuesday 26th of June 2012 11:52:05 AM
Old 06-26-2012
ITs more a question of what do you want to do: development or administration?
To be good in UNIX depends what you call good... Being able to sort yourself out is the first step...
e.g. Todays issue at work : a dept cannot access their NAS, the enigineers responsible restarted the smb /CIFs etc..
I was called after 2 1/2 hours when people got desperate, I know nothing bout the OS ( weird Debian with what looks like half of the commands existing reminding me of a chroot...) its a VM, it took me 15 minutes to get things working... all I needed was 1: vi 2: a valid account, 3: sudo root when needed...
The linux engineers know I am sure far more commands than me (I am not linux ) but I have many years of UNIX experience and so I see issues with a different approach...

Last edited by vbe; 06-26-2012 at 01:04 PM..
This User Gave Thanks to vbe For This Post:

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Is there a place like this for LINUX questions?

Is there some place like this unix.com for linux questions? a forum like area to ask questions? I love this site, i've learned a lot (use unix - solaris, and linux - redhat). Unfortunately redhat.com has gotten rid of their support forums, everything is in a list type format and I don't want to... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: kymberm
6 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Absolute n00b questions about Unix / Linux

Hi All, I have absolutely no experince with either one, and would LOVE to start from somewhere! So please guide me to some web sites (beside these great forums of course!) that I can obtain n00b information. (Books, links, resources, etc.) What software OS? should I begin with? I have heard... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: CodeHunter
2 Replies