Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Continue problem
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Continue problem Post 302656907 by Diabadass on Friday 15th of June 2012 03:01:30 PM
Old 06-15-2012
Thanks, Chubler. That works perfectly. I'm new to shell scripting (started grad school a year ago and have been teaching myself shell scripting to do brain image analysis). About your notes:

1) I got this script working so that it took the inputs in the Terminal window (you'd have to type in "Parallel 1 2 3 4 5..." into Terminal), but it only worked with the first shift command, for some reason. The second one was so that I didn't have thousands of "Waiting to open window" notices, but you solved that problem.

2) Yeah, that "done" was from a for loop I have embedded earlier in the script.

3) That makes perfect sense.

One thing I don't understand about your changes, though, is why [ $windows -ge $maxwindows ] is in there twice. Does the first one need to be there for the while loop to run?

Coming up with the script I had so far had been a great learning experience, but I learned more from understanding the changes you made than I have in weeks of reading message boards and guides. Thanks a million.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Continue an 'scp' tranfser?

I was in the middle of transferring a file over a slow link (768k) using 'scp'. The system on this end got rebooted by an overzealous co-worker... I've got 500+ megs of the file here and 725 megs to go. I'd really hate to start over. I fear that the answer to my question is that I will have to... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: deckard
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

continue example