Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting awk search file then pipe to mail Post 302653405 by tfxobrien on Friday 8th of June 2012 08:08:19 PM
Old 06-08-2012
awk search file then pipe to mail

I need to write a script to search a static file (file1) in the form
Name Email
tim tfxo@gmail.com
bob bob@sss.com
and then mail them another file (file2) that is input from the command line.
The command line would be:
script.awk who file2 subject
and the result would be
mail -s subject who < file2
My centos is old and mail does not support -a
I am a novice so if there is a better way without awk please let me know.
Thanks in advance.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

AWK Pipe (truncate last few lines from file)

Hello, does anybody have a clue why the following code isn't working in csh: awk 'END{print FNR-5}' x.log | awk 'FNR<$1' x.log > x2.log I want to remove the last 5 lines of a file without using a variable. Thanks Tim (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: uxuser
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Search for & edit rows & columns in data file and pipe

Dear unix gurus, I have a data file with header information about a subject and also 3 columns of n rows of data on various items he owns. The data file looks something like this: adam peter blah blah blah blah blah blah car 01 30 200 02 31 400 03 57 121 .. .. .. .. .. .. n y... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: tintin72
8 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Filtering mail into a named pipe

Hello, On my machine, all mail is stored in my /var/spool/mail. IS there a way to direct all mail that goes there into a namep pipe? Thank you, Dado (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: dadoprso
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Awk to Search and Replace inside the pipe "|"