Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Problem understanding Paths
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Problem understanding Paths Post 302646923 by Chasman78 on Saturday 26th of May 2012 01:43:53 PM
Old 05-26-2012
Problem understanding Paths

If I don't explain my issue well enough, I apologize ahead of time, extreme newbie here to scripting.

I'm currently learning scripting from books and have moved on to the text Wicked Cool Shell Scripts by Dave Taylor, but there are still basic concepts that I'm having trouble understanding.

The code I was working with is meant to verify whether a particular program is valid or can be found in the path directory list. It's the latter process that I don't understand will explain further. The code I was working with is as follows (p. 11 of Wicked Cool Shell Scripts)

Code:

#!/bin/sh

in_path()
{
cmd=$1   path=$2   retval=1
oldIFS=$IFS   IFS-":"

for directory in $path
do
   if [ -x $direcotry/$cmd ] ; then
   retval =0
   fi
done
IFS=$oldIFS
return $retval
}

checkForCmdInPath()
{
   var=$1
   if [ "$var" != ""] ; then
      if  [ "${var%${var#?}}" = "/" ] ; then
         if [ ! -x $var ] ; then
            return 1
         fi
      elif ! in_path $var $PATH ; then
            return 2
       fi
    fi
}
    if [ $# -ne 1 ] ; then
       echo "Usage: $0 command" >&2 ; exit 1
    fi

checkForCmdInPath "$1"
    case $? in
       0 ) echo "$1 found in PATH"      ;;
       1 ) echo "$1 not found or not executable"    ;;
       2 ) echo "$1 not found in PATH"      ;;
    esac

exit 0

Now when I enter 'inpath echo' at the command line (as per the instructions) I get this error message

-bash: inpath: command not found

I'm pretty certain I entered the code correctly, so I'm assuming the problem has to do with my not understanding the concept of paths, and so far no text has explained it in a way that I've understood so far.

Could someone please help me understand this because I'm currently stuck.