Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Copying files to new dir structure. Post 302645339 by arcanas on Wednesday 23rd of May 2012 08:56:29 AM
Old 05-23-2012
That works! Thanks for the help!

I also came up with this as another option:

Code:
#!/bin/bash
sdir=<path>/dira
ddir=<path>/dirb

cd "$sdir"; 

IFS='\
'
for author in `ls -1`; 
do 
(mkdir "$ddir/$author"; find "$author" -type f -name "*.epub" -exec cp "{}" "$ddir/$author" \;); 
done

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

copying files to new dir

Hello, I'm new to shell scripting so I don't really understand what I'm doing wrong. The script I'm trying to do saves all the files (*.c) on the current dir to a list and, one by one, copies them to a new one called Backup. The thing is, if there are already other versions of the files I'm... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: G3nn
6 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

copying of files by userB, dir & files owned by userA

I am userB and have a dir /temp1 This dir is owned by me. How do I recursively copy files from another users's dir userA? I need to preserve the original user who created files, original group information, original create date, mod date etc. I tried cp -pr /home/userA/* . ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Hangman2
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script to run a command on all txt files present in a dir structure

Hi, I have a directory structure like the one given below root\a\b1 root\a\b2 root\b\b1 root\b\b2 . . . root\j\b1 root\j\b2 Now, there are a txt files in each dir and subdir, there is a root.txt I have to write a script where in i have to run a command called "genrb <filename>"... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: vikramsinghnegi
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Copying a directory structure with the latest versions of files