Sponsored Content
Operating Systems HP-UX FAULTY DISK replacement HP rx4640 Post 302644051 by vbe on Monday 21st of May 2012 08:28:56 AM
Old 05-21-2012
I dont know if I can help because I have VERY little experience on RX boxes now I managed to find one for home someone removed the disks before I got hold of it...
You did not say (or Im blind...) your OS version!
vg00 is usually the OS (and so root / boot disks...) even more true when you see no lvol2... for its the swap...
I would suggest before going further to get 2 new disks, get them ordered you may not need them or perhaps one but if things go wrong or the situation is not cool you may be glad to have 2 with you (believe my experience...).
Next once you have them try to make a recovery tape or an "Golden Image" somehow, if the system manages then you are perhaps in the way to solve your issue online, if not try to find the last bootable backup of the system (you may need it...)
Lest say you managed a make_recovery, you know can go and try stm or xstm (X GUI ) and see what the tool diagnose about your disks

here give us what you found, and we will do a bit of brainstorming...

Good luck!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

Disk replacement with svm

I dont even know what raid level this is, but its raid 5 mirrored from the looks of it. I have a failed disk (t12) within this mirror. What is the best way to replace this disk? 2 things concern me, isn't there a command to prepare the disk for a hot swap? and what should i do with the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: BG_JrAdmin
3 Replies

2. AIX

Removing Faulty Disk SSA

Hi Experts, I have configured A D40 Array. There is an faulty disk which is not part of an raid volume but shows fault in the diagnostics. pdisk15 U0.1-P1-I1/Q1-W40AA83CC2400D SSA160 Physical Disk Drive ( MB) Is there a way to stop this... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: vuppala360
2 Replies

3. Solaris

Help with faulty Disk on Sun OS