Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Extract all proper names from string with awk Post 302639857 by bartus11 on Sunday 13th of May 2012 11:45:53 AM
Old 05-13-2012
I don't see any difference here:
Quote:
like Gary Oldman, not Gary Oldman
Please use code tags to preserve white spaces.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extract Part of string from 3rd field $3 using AWK

I'm executing "wc -lc" command in a c shell script to get record count and byte counts and writing them to a file. I get the result with the full pathname of the file. But I do not want the path name to be printed in the output file. I heard that using Awk we can get this but I don't have any... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: stakuri
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using Awk in shell script to extract an index of a substring from a parent string

Hi All, I am new to this shell scripting world. Struck up with a problem, can anyone of you please pull me out of this. Requirement : Need to get the index of a substring from a parent string Eg : index("Sandy","dy") should return 4 or 3. My Approach : I used Awk function index to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sandeepms17
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Proper Expression To Not Include A String...

I have a folder of scripts: bash:/folderpath/> ls beginFile.sh beginFileBackup.sh beginAnother.sh beginAnotherBackup.sh beginJunk.sh beginJunkBackup.sh I'd like to be able to call just one (beginFile.sh) using this type of scheme: #Run the beginFile script without the word "Backup" in... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mrwatkin
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk extract a string from a file