Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers grep to show patterns being matched (-f option) Post 302639725 by Peasant on Sunday 13th of May 2012 12:32:29 AM
Old 05-13-2012
See if this awk fills your needs (presumes regex file has no spaces) :

Code:
awk 'NR==FNR { a[$1]; next } { for ( i in a) if (match($0,i)) print FNR FS i FS $0 }' file_with_list_of_regexes.txt input.txt
1 computer.+ sell your computer and buy a guitar
2 ^coffee.+ coffee time is anytime

Hope that helps.

Regards
Peasant.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to group matched patterns in different files

Hi, I have a master file that i need to split into multiple files based on matched patterns. sample of my data as follows:- scaff_1 a e 123 130 c_scaff_100 scaff_1 a e 132 138 c_scaff_101 scaff_1 a e 140 150 ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: redse171
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Grab contents between two matched patterns

I am wanting to fetch the content of the table within a file the table begins with data label like N Batch Mn(I) RMSdev I/rms Rmerge Number Nrej Cm%poss AnoCmp MaxRes CMlplc SmRmerge SmMaxRes $$ $$ . #columns of data . . . . . $$ I tried the command awk... (18 Replies)
Discussion started by: piynik
18 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Delete lines and the first pattern between 2 matched patterns

Hi, i need help to delete all the lines between 2 matched patterns and the first pattern must be deleted too. sample as follows: inputfile.txt >kump_1 ........................... ........................... >start_0124 dgfhghgfh fgfdgfh fdgfdh >kump_2 ............................. (7 Replies)
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Print line between two patterns when a certain pattern matched