Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Place , character after 3 digits from left to right in a string Post 302639539 by mirni on Saturday 12th of May 2012 03:50:46 AM
Old 05-12-2012
If you have 'rev' from util-linux package , it's easy:

Code:
$ echo 12345678911234567 | rev | sed 's/\([0-9][0-9][0-9]\)/\1,/g' | rev

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to get the most left hand string ??

Hi, I remember once seeing a way to get the left most string in a word. Let's say: a="First.Second.Third" (separated by dot) echo ${a#*.} shows --> Second.Third echo ${a##*.} shows --> Third How do I get the the left most string "First" Or "First.Second" ??? Tried to replace #... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jfortes
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

to check if a string has only digits

Hi guys, I am not very experienced in writing ksh scripts and I am trying to write a piece of code that indicates if a given string contains only digits and no alphabet (upper or lower case). If i write it my way it would turn out to have a lot of comparisons.. :eek: Thanks a lot in... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: lakshmikanth
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extract digits at end of string

I have a string like xxxxxx44. What's the best way to extract the digits (one or more) in a ksh script? Thanks (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: offirc
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

find the last digits of a string

print out 201 in following string, Please note the chars before 201 are random, no fixed format. ua07app201 (20 Replies)
Discussion started by: honglus
20 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Insert a special character $ in place of extra spaces

Hi Experts, I have called some.txt with the following content. oracle HYRDSRVIHUB01 pts/0 TESTIHUB 07-JUN-10 CREATE TABLE TESTIHUB PHONE ... (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: naree
12 Replies