Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Delete " in my file
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Delete " in my file Post 302637937 by brianjb on Wednesday 9th of May 2012 02:19:12 PM
Old 05-09-2012
Code:
sed -e 's/\"//g' filename > newfile

or for inline editing:
Code:
sed -i -e  's/\"//g' filename

This User Gave Thanks to brianjb For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

how can i delete a file which name maybe "\b\b"

I just found that there is a file which looks like "blank" in the output of ls: ls -l total 16666 -rw-rw-rw- 1 root other 19395 Nov 20 16:4 -rw-rw-rw- 1 root other 1626347 Nov 20 17:06 text -rw-rw-rw- 1 root other 67860 Nov 20 11:34 df_out and another sample... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sleepy_11
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Unix commands delete all files starting with "X" except "X" itself. HELP!!!!?

im a new student in programming and im stuck on this question so please please HELP ME. thanks. the question is this: enter a command to delete all files that have filenames starting with labtest, except labtest itself (delete all files startign with 'labtest' followed by one or more... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: soccerball
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Delete files older than "x" if directory size is greater than "y"

I wrote a script to delete files which are older than "x" days, if the size of the directory is greater than "y" #!/bin/bash du -hs $1 while read SIZE ENTRY do if ; then find $1 -mtime +$2 -exec rm -f {} \; echo "Files older than $2 days deleted" else echo "free Space available"... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: JamesCarter
4 Replies

4. Red Hat

How to delete a file named "~" ???

When i 'ls' the bin folder, there was "~" tilde in the list. How to delete this safely as this symbol represents home folder. Kindly help. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: frozensmilz
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting