Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Delimit the out of wc -l command. Post 302636029 by Scrutinizer on Monday 7th of May 2012 02:14:13 AM
Old 05-07-2012
@itka, what if there is a file with "total" in the name somewhere? That does not seem hypothetical, whereas the wc "total" line is always the last line...
This User Gave Thanks to Scrutinizer For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to delimit a flat file with records with SED

Hi gurus, hoping someone can help with a sed line that can do the following... I have a flat file with about 1000 records, but in order to import into openoffice spreadsheet, I need to create a delimited file. I'd like to do 2 things with the SED command: 1- add a pipe character "|" at the end... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: RogCor
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

cat or cut to delimit csv?

Hi, Im a pretty large noob to linux/perl etc and im trying to use mysql slurp to take a delimited file and import it into mysql using stdin (in the hope its faster) mysqlslurp - slurp <STDIN> into a MySQL table - search.cpan.org Christopher Brown / MySQL-Slurp - search.cpan.org Using... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: newtony
3 Replies

3. Solaris

how to delimit a colon

I want to know how to delimit a colon in a file name while scp ing from one host to other host. I used forward slash(\) but that is not working. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rogerben
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk: round output or delimit output of arithmatic string

I have a file with the following content. > cat /tmp/internetusage.txt 6709.296322 30000 2/7/2010 0.00I am using the following awk command to calculate a percentage from field 1 and 2 from the file. awk '{ print $1/$2*100 }' /tmp/internetusage.txt This outputs the value "22.3643" as a... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jelloir
1 Replies

5. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users