Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Rename a large number of files in subdirectories Post 302634387 by rbatte1 on Thursday 3rd of May 2012 09:12:15 AM
Old 05-03-2012
Thanks methyl, my mistake.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Count number of files in subdirectories

Hello, I am new to unix and would like to have a count of all the files in the current directory as well as all the files in a subdirectory. The command I used was ls -R | wc -l but the number returned wasn't correct. Can someone please help? Thanks (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: cbeverly
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

moving large number of files

I have a task to move more than 35000 files every two hours, from the same directory to another directory based on a file that has the list of filenames I tried the following logics (1) find . -name \*.dat > list for i in `cat list` do mv $i test/ done (2) cat list|xargs -i mv "{}"... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: bryan
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to rename a number of files

Hi I need to rename about hundred of files which contain ".R " and the end, for example: /t1/data/f2993trn.ix7.R The new file should not have ".R" extension, ex: /t1/data/f2993trn.ix7.R Is there a command which I can put in the loop to do this? Thansk for any advice -A (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: aoussenko
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Concatenation of a large number of files

Hellow i have a large number of files that i want to concatenate to one. these files start with the word 'VOICE_' for example VOICE_0000000000 VOICE_1223o23u0 VOICE_934934927349 I use the following code: cat /ODS/prepaid/CDR_FLOW/MEDIATION/VOICE_* >> /ODS/prepaid/CDR_FLOW/WORK/VOICE ... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: chriss_58
10 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

how can i find number of lines in files & subdirectories