Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Debian Bash script to STOP installation 'if' a file exists... Post 302625973 by thazsar on Wednesday 18th of April 2012 03:43:20 PM
Old 04-18-2012
Bash script to STOP installation 'if' a file exists...

Hey all,

Here's my dilemma:

1. I'm a newbie at scripting!
2. I need to create a script that checks: If a file size is equal to zero, then stop the installation.

Is there a way to do this or am I wasting my time???

Thanx in advance! Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Check File Exists and compare to previous day file script

We have data files that are ftp'd every morning to a SUN server. The file names are exactly the same except for that each has the date included in its name. I have to write script to do 2 things: STEP 1) Verify that the file arrived in morning. STEP 2) Compare the file size of the current... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: rbknisely
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

bash script quesiton - if any file exists then ...

I'd like a bash script to simply check to see if any file/files are present in a source directory, and if so move it/them to a target directory. I have this but it doesn't work: #!/bin/bash if then mv /source/* /target fi What is the right syntax? Thanks! (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: graysky
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bash interactive installation script

Hi, for an exercise I need to write a script that will ask the user about each package in a (local) repository and install it or not according to the user's input. I am fairly new to scripting, so I did not get very far. Here is what I came up with. I really appreciate your help. ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Softsmid
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script to check if file exists