Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting if condition error: integer expression expected Post 302625433 by kashif.live on Tuesday 17th of April 2012 07:12:18 PM
Old 04-17-2012
if condition error: integer expression expected

I am trying to run following condition with both variables having numeric values "1,2,3"

Code:
     if [ '$NEW_STATE' -gt '$OLD_STATE' ];

when i run it i get following error:

Code:
     $NEW_STATE: integer expression expected

Please correct me where I'm doing wrong.

I'm trying to check either New State is greater or Old state. I have also tried "" for variables. but still not working.

Image Image Image

Last edited by methyl; 04-17-2012 at 08:38 PM.. Reason: Closed thread because post contains hidden links

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

integer expression expected error

I'm a beginner so I might make beginner mistakes. I want to count the "#define" directives in every .C file I get the following errors: ./lab1.sh: line 5: ndef: command not found ./lab1.sh: line 6: #!/bin/sh for x in *. do ndef = 'grep -c \#define $x' if ; then ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: dark_knight
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

integer expression expected error crontab only

I created a bash script that ran fine for awhile on a nightly crontab but then started crashing with commands not found, so I added PATH=/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/bin/X11:/home/homedir/scripts/myscriptdir export PATH and now I don't get those errors, but... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: unclecameron
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Display Error [: : integer expression expected