Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Create tar file
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Create tar file Post 302621327 by methyl on Tuesday 10th of April 2012 08:48:00 AM
Old 04-10-2012
Code:
[ $(du -b archive.tar  | awk '{print $1}') -gt  1600000000 ] && echo "file size is high" || echo "file size is  low"

1) The du command posted gives the result in 512 byte blocks.
2) The -b parameter to du is irrelevant in this context (and is doesn't mean bytes).

Try doing the comparison in 512 byte blocks:
Code:
[ $(du archive.tar  | awk '{print $1}') -gt  3125000 ] && echo "file size is high" || echo "file size is  low"

This User Gave Thanks to methyl For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

script to create tar file

hello, im a newbie in unix scripting. can someone pls send me a sample script that will tar files in the folders of a specific directory, but will exclude specific files, and afterwards, will ftp the tar into another server. for example: in this directory, pshrprod:/opt/psoft/weblogic/818sp9_80... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ajrandrup
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

How to create a Tar of multiple Files in Unix and FTP the tar to Windows.

Hi, On my Unix Server in my directory, I have 70 files distributed in the following directories (which have several other files too). These files include C Source Files, Shell Script Source Files, Binary Files, Object Files. a) /usr/users/oracle/bin b) /usr/users/oracle... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: marconi
1 Replies

3. Solaris

Find files older than x days and create a consolidated single tar file.

Hello, I need help in finding files older than x days and creating a single consolidated tar file combining them. Can anyone please provide me a script? Thanks, Dawn (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Dawn Bosch
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

tar -cvf test.tar `find . -mtime -1 -type f` only tar 1 file