Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help Linux Shell Group exists Post 302619883 by ping2 on Friday 6th of April 2012 10:01:07 AM
Old 04-06-2012
ok thanks franklin and sorry to write in the middle of the thread, as that was my first question in this form, i have never used this before, thanks for your help.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

If file exists (bourne shell)

Im trying to code some logic into a test script to test for the existence of a file before recreating it. Im using the following line to test for this: if -r test.txt; However I get the error message ./testScript.sh: -r: not found Having read through the man pages im still not clear whats... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: blakmk
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Chek if a file exists in Ubuntu and Cent OS using shell script

I have tried few examples in the internet but all of them are different and none worked. I need to check if a file exists in a directory if it does not then exit . here is what I have for now $filename ="/usr/local/net/var/lib/directoryservice/sync.disable" if ; then echo "The file exists"... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: m_kk
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

HOW TO CHECK ONLY .C FILES EXISTS OR NOT IN A FOLDER using IF in C shell script?

Hi friends.. I hav a problem.... I dont know how to check .c files exists r not in a folder using IF in C shell script actually i tried like this if(=~ *.c) even though some .c files or there in the current folder..it is not entering int o the if control statement...... (17 Replies)
Discussion started by: p.hemadrireddy
17 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script to check if any file exists in 4 folders