Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Rsync on Cygwin - Restrict user to several directories Post 302619631 by cemo on Thursday 5th of April 2012 09:07:09 PM
Old 04-05-2012
Rsync on Cygwin - Restrict user to several directories

Hi,
I'm using rsync on cygwin (winXP) to sync our files between several laptops and XP (acting as a file server)

For simplicity I use the same user account with different certificates over SSH.

Now my question is;
If a user understands the logic and modifies the rsync command, he can easily download everything from the XP box, even from different drives.
How can I restrict the common user account (say "rsyncuser") to only several folders on specific drives ?

Thanks for any help..

Cemo

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

restrict a user to certain command

Hi all, I am using Sun OS 5.10. I am new to Unix. Is there some way to restrict a specific user to certain command say "/usr/bin/more" ?? for example: I want that user1 can execute more command & user2 can't. Can we somehow edit .profile file in the home directory of user to achieve... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: vikas027
1 Replies

2. Red Hat

restrict access of a user to two directories only

Hi all, I am using RHEL 5.0 I need a user say test to have full access to two directories, say /tmp1 & /tmp2 only other than his home directory. I do not want to change his login shell which is ksh or bash by default. Moreover, he should not even have read access of other directories. ... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: vikas027
10 Replies

3. AIX

New user and restrict path

Hello I have a question in Aix 5.3 can I create a user, that only can see a specify path. I mean the user log in the default path its /home/newuser he type cd the path that need to check /example/directory_check but if he wants to go to / or any other path. we can not do this. I only... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: lo-lp-kl
1 Replies