Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Server Confusion
Homework and Emergencies Homework & Coursework Questions Server Confusion Post 302618671 by vbe on Wednesday 4th of April 2012 09:43:09 AM
Old 04-04-2012
Quote:
Do I need to configure a DNS?
As a domain name server ? No...
But if you dont configure your box to use a DNS, you will find yourself with a rather autistic box that may communicate only with what he knows about: The content of /etc/hosts... Usually you need configuring /etc/resolv.conf in order to resolve domain names... and /etc/nsswitch.conf to say where to look at first and if not found where after...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

ftp confusion

I'm an intern at a company that recently bought out another business. In doing so, they inherited a unix system that contains files which they need to retrieve. No one in the company, including myself, really understands or knows unix so please respond with the true assumption that I'm a unix... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: intern
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

'tr' confusion

Good day, everyone! Could anybody explain me the following situation. If I'm running similar script: Var="anna.kurnikova" Var2="Anna Kurn" echo $Var | tr -t "$Var" "$Var2" Why the output is : anna KurniKova instead of Anna Kurnikova? :confused: Thank you in advance for any... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Nafanja
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

crontab confusion

I come across an entry in cron which is in such: 0 * * * * What is the first 0 indicating? 0 minute? meaning a script cron as such will run every minute? :confused: (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: user50210
2 Replies

4. Linux

Confusion setting up server