Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Create a report for client with a text data file Post 302615847 by drl on Friday 30th of March 2012 11:08:26 AM
Old 03-30-2012
Hi.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bashily
it is very complicated for me as I am a newbie! I did some research and I found out that I can use "getopts" to work around this
I am not sure what it is that you are working around, however, yes, getopts is a good way to standardize the interface for scripts, and to ease the task of maintenance.

Best wishes ... cheers, drl

---------- Post updated at 10:08 ---------- Previous update was at 06:47 ----------

Hi.

Quote:
I take a course for scripting and this is what I need to do for the final project. ... I am not able to figure out this one, even though I am good at my stuff. I appreciate it if you help with this:

-- excerpt from private message
I sympathize with your situation and thank you for your honesty, however, you should be using the forum designed for classwork:
Coursework, etc., forum
Code:
 Homework & Coursework Questions  (4 Viewing)
Students must use and complete the template provided. If you don't, your post may be deleted! Special homework rules apply here.

https://www.unix.com/homework-coursew...ons-forum.html

I do not plan to continue posting in this thread.

Best wishes ... cheers, drl

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

create data file from report file

Dear Ones, kindly help me to create a data file from the report file as shown here under( i am new one to unix KNOW BASIC COMMANDS) file:rama.prt (ist record)(3 to 4 lines of text with different filed names) Name :M.LALITHA DOB:12/11/45 DESG :JA(P) STANO:300175 ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: cvvsnm
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to format or create a matrix report from file