Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Create a report for client with a text data file Post 302615589 by bashily on Thursday 29th of March 2012 11:54:14 PM
Old 03-30-2012
Create a report for client with a text data file

Hi,
I am an amateur bash scriptwriter and I need to write a script which creates a report in a formatted, easy to read table-like that is displayed to standard output. The script has to export the followings: Process ID,User Name, Command Name,Priority.....

Now I have a file that I can see all the report as a text, separated by comma like this:

1,root,init,20,0.0,0.1,0:01.78
1008,root,migration/0,1,2.0,1.8,7:04.32
5,root,watchdog/0,1,0.0,0.0,0:00.00

I need to have (-u option) which gives me a user specified by regex like this: myscript -u mytxt.top
This has to give me: The user name,The process name,The process ID,% of CPU Time,% of Memory
The output has to be like this:

I know that I have to use AWK or SED to get the total of CPU and other stuff... however I am not that comfortable to write this...
any help would be appreciated.
Thanks

---------- Post updated at 11:54 PM ---------- Previous update was at 09:05 PM ----------

great! no solution?!

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

create data file from report file

Dear Ones, kindly help me to create a data file from the report file as shown here under( i am new one to unix KNOW BASIC COMMANDS) file:rama.prt (ist record)(3 to 4 lines of text with different filed names) Name :M.LALITHA DOB:12/11/45 DESG :JA(P) STANO:300175 ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: cvvsnm
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to format or create a matrix report from file

Dear Unix champs, I have a input file as attached, i would like to create an report from the file as below FileType | EQUENS0001 | EQUENS0002 | EQUENS1100 | EQUENS0003 --------+-------------------------------------------------------- Msg No |... (3 Replies)