Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting escaping metacharacters in paths for a shell command Post 302613787 by chapeupreto on Tuesday 27th of March 2012 08:56:59 PM
Old 03-27-2012
Hello cue
You may use sed and tr for achieving this goal.
Try something like:

Code:
sed 's/^/"/ ; s/$/"/' file.txt  | tr "\n" " " > newfile.txt

By doing that, newfile.txt has all the paths from file.txt which are escaped by quotation marks and separated by a whitespace.
Hope it helps.
This User Gave Thanks to chapeupreto For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

ctrl-c: not escaping command

using ksh on HP 11.11. I'm new to HP, so maybe it's something I need to turn on in HP, but I figured it's probably in ksh. If I run "grep aaa" (or any command) Whenever I try to Ctrl-C it does not work. I'm not saying it did work before, as I'm new to the environment. Do I need to set a... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: dangral
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

escaping * in korn shell

When trying to escape special character * - it doesn't seem to work. In korn shell trying to store a local variable as follows sample=test* echo $sample - gets all the file names starting with test* , instead i want to literally store the value test* into a variable. I tried escaping with \, with... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: prekida
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Escaping apostrophe using shell script

Hi, I am using the KSH shell. I am facing a problem of escaping apostrophe('), that is occuring in a variable. I used the following command, but in vain item=`echo $item|sed 's/'/\'/g'` this code replaces the occurance of ' in an xml file to apostrophe(') symbol. The output of... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: mradul_kaushik
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

escaping backslashes to evaluate paths