Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Averaging each row with null values Post 302612065 by ida1215 on Saturday 24th of March 2012 12:28:57 PM
Old 03-24-2012
Thank you very much for all the help on this.
@ agama: what does the / [0-9] / do in the awk expression?
@ scrutinizer: thanks for the useful information of awk capabilities.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

averaging column values with awk

Hello. Im just starting to learn awk so hang in there with me...I have a large text file formatted as such everything is in a single column ID001 value 1 value 2 value....n ID002 value 1 value 2 value... n I want to be able to calculate the average for values for each ID from the... (18 Replies)
Discussion started by: johnmillsbro
18 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to insert data befor some field in a row of data depending up on values in row

Hi I need to do some thing like "find and insert before that " in a file which contains many records. This will be clear with the following example. The original data record should be some thing like this 60119827 RTMS_LOCATION_CDR INSTANT_POSITION_QUERY 1236574686123083rtmssrv7 ... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: aemunathan
8 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

How to Compare Null values??

Hi, Can someone help me comparing Null values. Scenario is as follows: I have a variable which "cache_prd" which can have either some integer or nothing(Null) if it is integer I have to again do some comparision but these comparisons give me this error:( "line 32: [: 95: unary operator... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Yagami
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

sorting null values

Hi I have a file with the values abc res set kls lmn ops i want to sort this file with the null values at the bottom of the file OUTPUT should look like this abc kls lmn ops (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: vickyhere
6 Replies