Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Set readonly
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Set readonly Post 302610389 by daWonderer on Wednesday 21st of March 2012 08:05:04 AM
Old 03-21-2012
Set readonly

I'm confused using hdparm -r1 /dev/sda9

although it shows readonly set to 1 (on) - I can touch a file and edit and save it.

why?

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Making files readonly with vi?

Hi, I'm new at this whole Unix thing, but definately learning (lots of fun)... and I was wondering - how do you make a file read-only with vi? I don't mean how do you load up vi in read-only mode, but how do you save a file (or flag a file, or whatever) in vi to read-only? How do you make it... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Flyguy
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Readonly access

Hi, I have create a user using the following command useradd -d /home/rozan -s /bin/bash -c "Rozan ahmed" -g dba rozan I would like to give her only the read only access to $BDUMP_HOME/alert.log file The owner of the file is oracle:oinstall Regards Faruque (13 Replies)
Discussion started by: faruque.ahmed
13 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

how to unset the readonly variable

Hi All, May be this is a very simple question... $ b=8 $ readonly b $ echo $b 8 $ b=90 -bash: b: readonly variable $ unset b -bash: unset: b: cannot unset: readonly variable I m not able to change the readonly mode of variable b Please help me out.. Thanks Nidhi (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Nidhi2177
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Readonly

After I issused $readonly THIN. How to change back the varaibale from read only to writeable? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Paris Heng
1 Replies

5. Debian

Force readonly mount always.