Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Text file to CSV with field data separated by blank lines Post 302609551 by Scrutinizer on Tuesday 20th of March 2012 05:56:42 AM
Old 03-20-2012
Hi ops_team, please start a new thread for this. Don't forget to use code tags.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Exporting text file data to csv

Could any one help me in basic shell script to export text file data to csv. I need to export only particular data from text file to csv column. I am a newbie to UNIX could anyone help me with sample script code (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: l_jayakumar
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to add text to a field within a csv file

I have a csv file which has three columns mem no. name surname 1234 John Smith 12345 John Doe I want to change the mem no. to add TF to the mem no. field i.e. mem no. name surname 1234TF John Smith 12345TF John Doe How do you do this for all records in the file? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Pablo_beezo
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Find lines in text file with certain data in first field

Hi all, Sorry for the title, I was unsure how to word my issue. I'll get right to the issue. In my text file, I need to find all lines with the same data in the first field. Then I need to create a file with the matching lines merged into one. So my original file will look something like... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: rstev39147
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Remove blank lines and comments from text file

Hi, I am using BASH. How can I remove any lines in a text file that are either blank or begin with a # (ie. comments)? Thanks in advance. Mike (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: msb65
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Compare Tab Separated Field with AWK to all and print lines of unique fields.