Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting AWK separating a file into an array Post 302604014 by tgidzak on Friday 2nd of March 2012 02:35:09 PM
Old 03-02-2012
It is not homework. I didn't want to give the actual information in my message for security reasons. I am just new at my job and scripting is something that is coming very difficultly for me. I assume the red lines are characters that you just did not post. Is this for testing purposes?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Separating values from a file and putting to a variable

I am writing into a file testfile.txt values like ./XXXXXXCZ1/tprcm10c.bin ./XXXXXXCZ1_HOT/tprcm09c.bin ./XXXXXXCZ_cold/tprcm05c.bin I want to store the values of tprcm*.bin and XXXXXXCZ* in separate variables Can anybody Pls hlp me out with this ... Thanks (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ultimatix
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

saving values in file in an array in awk

hi i am trying to save values in a file in an array in awk..the file is as follows: 0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0, 0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0, 0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0, so far i have this: awk 'BEGIN {RS="\n";FS=","} { for(i=1;i<=NR;i++) { for(j=1;j<=NF;j++) { a=$j; } } (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: npatwardhan
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Put lines of a file in an array with awk

Hello, Is there any way in awk to put every line of a file in an array and so we can like this print the line we want. For example, if we have this file aaa eee bbb fff ccc ggg ddd hhh So we can print to the output the 3rd line only ccc ggg If it is possible, please put the... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: rany1
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Separating delimited file by pattern with exclusion list