Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Adding gzip compression to a connection using nc Post 302603989 by haggismn on Friday 2nd of March 2012 01:19:27 PM
Old 03-02-2012
Adding gzip compression to a connection using nc

Hello everyone,
As the title suggests, I am attempting to test adding gzip compression to a connection to an application I am testing. Currently I have the application set up with httptunnel, which forwards the connection to the remote host.

I would like to use a script to intercept the connection between the application and httptunnel, gzip the data that is there, and then forward it on. On the other side, the opposite will happen with gzip -d, with the resulting data passed on to the server application.

However I need some help, as I am fairly new to some of the things which are required to do this, like mkfifo, as well as piping outputs. I think there may be some other problems implementing such an idea with multiple connections, but that is a problem for later.

I have created a connection which works fine for sending gz files, and a while loop to keep things going.

Code:
while true ; do nc -l 3333 | gzip -d ; done

and on the other side, simply

Code:
 nc 192.168.20.84 3333 < a.gz

Can someone assist in developing this so that I can use this method to compress the connection on one side ,and decompress on the other side?

The following is an attempt to do what what needs to be done on one side, but on other, I am not so sure about decompressing and passing data on. httptunnel is listening on 8080 of course.

Code:
#!/bin/sh
mkfifo /tmp/gz.tmp
while true; do
cat gz.tmp | gzip | nc -l -k localhost 9123 | nc localhost 8080 ;
done