Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Using top command to email if process is exceeding 25% and sending an email alert if so Post 302603909 by jay02 on Friday 2nd of March 2012 09:25:46 AM
Old 03-02-2012
Java Using top command to email if process is exceeding 25% and sending an email alert if so

This is my first time writing a script and Im having some trouble,
Im trying to use the top command to monitor processes and the amount of CPU usage they require, my aim is to get an email if a process takes over a certain percentage of CPU usage
I tried grep [25%-100%]
Obviosly that hasnt worked,
Any help would be much appreciated Smilie

FYI im using the bash shell for the script

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Sending email

I have an Solaris 8 machine running a managment application. One of the features of this application is to configure alarm forwarding to an email undress. When i configured the application to do that, it asked me only about the recipient email address. Quesiton: how to configure my Solaris 8... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: bcheaib
7 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

sending email

hi, is there any possiblity to send email from the command prompt, for eg i want to send alert to any mail id like /data/logs is 80% to my hotmail account , xxx@hotmail.com is this really possible,, if not, then what are the prerequistes need to do this (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: vasikaran
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sending find command results to email

This is probably simple so forgive me... I just want to find all files in a folder created within the last 10 minutes... This is easy: # find /home/folder -cmin -10 If the find command locates any files created in the last ten minutes I want it to send an email alert. I just want to... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: gardellap
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting