Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Make directory in script
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Make directory in script Post 302602953 by Corona688 on Tuesday 28th of February 2012 06:46:48 PM
Old 02-28-2012
labs/* is redundant. Just do
Code:
tar -C labs -cf filename.tar .

And you can do
Code:
mkdir -p

which will be silent if the directory already exists.
This User Gave Thanks to Corona688 For This Post:

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how do i make a new directory?

i know this is a pretty lame question, but im trying to ftp a file to a unix server - and i want to put it in a folder called "tmp" but when i try to do a " cd /tmp" it tells me there is no such folder. can someone tell me the command to create a "tmp" folder? thanks (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: raichuu
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need script to make big directory structure

Hi, I'm a novice and I'd like to make a directory structure with a hundred or so folders. I've tried mkdir /foo/foo1/etc... mkdir /foo/foo2/etc mkdir /foo/foo3/etc mkdir /foo/foo4/etc ...but it appends '@' to each folder name and then fails on the subdirectories. Is it better to use a... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kamur
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

make directory script

Hi, I try to write a script to create a new directory. #!/bin/bash echo "Please enter folder name (6 characters only) :" read foldername mkdir /home/user/$foldername $foldername >> /home/list/list.txt My question/situation: 1) how to ensure the folder name MUST BE 6 characters... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: malaysoul
0 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How Can I Make Subdirectories In A Directory?

I cant remember how, i use to know but its been like 2 years since ive used shell can anyone help me? (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: kprescod4158
7 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting