Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help in understanding awk expression Post 302601428 by Corona688 on Thursday 23rd of February 2012 04:01:36 PM
Old 02-23-2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by arun_maffy
Hi Corona,

Thanks for the explanation. Could you please tell me how to change this code to replace the % to POINT only for the particular in specific the 3rd occurrence and come out immediately without replacing the other entries in the same file.

Thanks a lot in advance Smilie

Arun
I don't perfectly understand what you want. Could you show an example of the input you have, and an example of the output you want?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help on understanding the Shell and AWK scripts

Hello Friends, I am new to the scripting & have to analyze bunch of regular production scripts. It has .ksh which calls on the .awk script having many functions I need to understand and debug the scripts ASAP Can anybody please let me know as how can I debug, I want to see the flow of code... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: amberj123
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Understanding Awk and Cat

Hi Guys, I was recently come across some code to hopefully learn a little bit about putting Shell commands into PHP application to run on a Linux server. However, I don't understand the command AT ALL... and was wondering if anyone can interpret it: cat userIDs.dat | awk '{s=s+1; if... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jordRiot
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Awk inside Awk expression

Hi, It can be used awk inside other Awk?. I need to get another text processing while other text process. Thank you. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: pepeli30
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

understanding part of an awk script