Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers oneliner for adding header and trailer Post 302600824 by pandeesh on Wednesday 22nd of February 2012 07:13:34 AM
Old 02-22-2012
oneliner for adding header and trailer

for example, i have a file with below content:
Code:

i want the output as:
Code:
This is header
This is trailer

i am able to achieve it using a bash script.

But is it possible to achieve this in awk or sed one liner?

Thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Append Header and Trailer

Hi everyone, I am new to Unix programming. My inquries is:- a) How to add a Header and Trailer in the set of data b) Include a number count of the data in the trailer The set of data only contained the information of 'Customer's Name' and 'Account Number'. I would like to add the Header... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: balzzz
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Removing Header & Trailer from a file

Hi All, I am karthik. I am new to this forum. I have one requirement. I have a file with header and footer. Header may be like HDR0001 or FILE20090110 (Assume it is unknown so far, but i am sure there is a header in the file) likewise file has the trailer too. I just... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: karthi_gana
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Header as is.. trailer count

i have .DAT file FILE1.DAT 1200910270040625 2123456789 J123456 ABC 2123456789 K123456 ABC 2222222222 L123456 DEF 2333333333 M12345 GHI 30000004 My outfile FILE2.TXT should have like this, I need the header value as ie (1200910270040625 ) body rows remove the duplicate rows and the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kshuser
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Adding Header and Trailer records to a appended file