Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Insert text space
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Insert text space Post 302600384 by balajesuri on Tuesday 21st of February 2012 02:17:33 AM
Old 02-21-2012
1. You want to format it neatly or you want a csv?
2. Here one solution for getting a csv:
Code:
sed "s/^\([0-9]\)/Date \1/; s/Bike speed (kmph)/Bike_speed_(kmph)/; s/ /,/g; s/Bike_speed_(kmph)/Bike speed (kmph)/" input

This User Gave Thanks to balajesuri For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to insert some constant text at beginig of each line within a text file.

Dear Folks :), I am new to UNIX scripting and I do not know how can I insert some text in the first column of a UNIX text file at command promtp. I can do this in vi editor by using this command :g/^/s//BBB_ e,g I have a file named as Test.dat and it containins below text: michal... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Muhammad Afzal
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need to insert new text and change existing text in a file using SED

Hi all, I need to insert new text and change existing text in a file. For that I used the below line in the command line and got the expected output. sed '$a\ hi... ' shell > shell1 But I face problem when using the same in script. It is throwing the error as, sed: command garbled:... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: iamgeethuj
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Insert space between two words

Hi, I need to insert space between words on my output in UNIX other than the single space given by the space bar on my keyboard, e.g when are you going. (There should be 4 spaces between each of these words) rather than when are you going Can anyone help me with... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: divroro12
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Insert space between characters using sed