Sponsored Content
Operating Systems BSD jobs -l | sed ... = nothing!? Post 302600210 by methyl on Monday 20th of February 2012 11:11:37 AM
Old 02-20-2012
I suspect that this is an unusual Shell and it is running a pipeline in a subshell such that the "jobs" command has lost its context.
Either that or there is more to this script and the command is in a subshell.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

jobs

I am running this script below as a cron job for user root. In fact I set this job early last week and expected it to delete archive logs older than 7 days, but doesn't work - just displays the echo messages and no error. Can somebody advise me the probable causes ?? DAY_AFTER=7; export... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: vbaskar
1 Replies

2. Solaris

Cron Jobs

whats up, Have some questions about cron jobs, I am fairly new to the unix os. My cronjob sends all output to my mail, does anyone know how to redirect output to come out on the screen??? Thanks...... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: lewisoco
6 Replies

3. Solaris

Cron Jobs

I'm trying to run cron jobs to start any inhibited processes after a system reboot. I can schedule th cron, but i'm confused as to how to incorporated the reboot, since reboot is scheduled at different times, once every month. How can I write this to start every 15 min after after a reboot ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Remi
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

background jobs exit status and limit the number of jobs to run

i need to execute 5 jobs at a time in background and need to get the exit status of all the jobs i wrote small script below , i'm not sure this is right way to do it.any ideas please help. $cat run_job.ksh #!/usr/bin/ksh #################################### typeset -u SCHEMA_NAME=$1 ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: GrepMe
1 Replies

5. Solaris

at jobs

how to schedule a reboot using the at jobs ? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: priky