Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting piping from grep to awk without intermediate files Post 302599026 by siteregsam on Thursday 16th of February 2012 03:49:37 AM
Old 02-16-2012
MySQL

Thanks to all...

I made a silly mistake in the command. I had wrongly specified the field position as 6 instead of 7 in awk Smilie

After correcting it, the command worked.
Sorry for the inconvenience.

---------- Post updated at 03:49 AM ---------- Previous update was at 03:48 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by siteregsam
Thanks to all...

I made a silly mistake in the command. I had wrongly specified the field position as 6 instead of 7 in awk Smilie

After correcting it, the command worked.
Sorry for the inconvenience.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

question about grep, cut, and piping

Howdy folks, I am fairly new to scripting but have lost of expirience in c++, pascal, and a few other. I am trying to complete a file search script that is sent a file name containing data to search that is arranged like this "id","name","rating" "1","bob","7" etc and an argument to... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: dyrt
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Piping GREP

Hi, I need to use a double grep so to speak. I need to grep for a particular item say BOB and then for each successful result I need to grep for another item say SMITH. I tried grep "BOB" filename | grep "SMITH" but it does not seem to work. I can achieve my desired result using an... (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: mojoman
12 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to Avoid intermediate files when pipe does nt work

problem with piping one output to another.Would like to avoid the intermediate file creation.The piping does nt work on places where files have been created and goes in an endless loop. sed -e "s/^\.\///g" $LINE1| sed -e "s/_\(\)/kkk\1/g" > $file1 tr -s '_' ' ' < $file1| \ sort -n -k... (1 Reply)