Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Extracting unknown positional parameter in Bourne shell Post 302597904 by mij on Sunday 12th of February 2012 11:33:10 PM
Old 02-13-2012
I always forget about eval, too much time spent in other languages where similar functions are only desperate last resorts.

That worked perfectly, thanks.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. AIX

ls positional parameter

Hi . I am new to Unix. So i have a tough time. we are using Korn Shell. I have a scenario where i have three files namely xxx01,xxx02,xxx03. Now when i write ls xxx*|wc -l output is 3. But then i write `ls $1|wc -l` and pass xxx* as positional parameter (sh yyy.sh xxx*) output is xxx01. other... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: vasuarjula
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

ls positional parameter

Hi . I am new to Unix. So i have a tough time. we are using Korn Shell. I have a scenario where i have three files namely xxx01,xxx02,xxx03. Now when i write ls xxx*|wc -l output is 3. But then i write `ls $1|wc -l` and pass xxx* as positional parameter (sh yyy.sh xxx*) output is xxx01. other... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: vasuarjula
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

extracting parameter from file

Hi I have file 128 BES-Exchange BES-Exchange/BES-Exchange.vmx winNetEnterpriseGuest vmx-04 144 BES-SVR BES-SVR/BES-SVR.vmx winNetEnterpriseGuest vmx-04 176 BES AD BES-AD/BES AD.vmx ... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: bp_vardhaman
9 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

I need to understand the differences between the bash shell and the Bourne shell

I do not claim to be an expert, but I have done things with scripts that whole teams of folks have said can not be done. Of course they should have said we do not have the intestinal fortitude to git-r-done. I have been using UNIX actually HPUX since 1992. Unfortunately my old computer died and... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: awk_sed_hello
7 Replies