Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting sed append without using new line Post 302596228 by knight_eon on Tuesday 7th of February 2012 01:26:54 AM
Old 02-07-2012
Try something like this:
I will add Eon at the end of the line
Code:
$ cat data
Knight Eon
Hello World
Hello Earth
How is everyone

$ sed -e '$s/\(.*\)/\1Eon/g' data
Knight Eon
Hello World
Hello Earth
How is everyone Eon

This User Gave Thanks to knight_eon For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using SED to append character to each line

Hey - my first post here, and I'm a total SED newb. I've looked around for previous help on this, but have so far been unsuccessful. I have a program (AMStracker for OS X) that outputs data in the terminal. Output is in this form: . . . 3 0 -75 3 0 -76 3 0 -77 ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: c0nn0r
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

using sed to append text to the end of each line

Anyone know how to use SED to append a comma to the end of each line example: field1,field2,field3,field4 If i Cat /textfile ---- How can i append the end of /textfile with a comman? (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: Redg
8 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sed : identify a pattern and append a word at the end of a line

Hello to all, On aix, I want to identify a term on a line in a file and then add a word at the end of the line identified. I do not want the word to be added when the line contains the symbol "#". I use the following command, but it deletes the term identified then adds the word. #sed... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: dantares
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

sed - append text to every line