Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Script to pick the files from source folder Post 302596074 by Vijay81 on Monday 6th of February 2012 11:47:33 AM
Old 02-06-2012
hi Corona,

Files are expected in the same directory. But it is a valid scenario if the files are not with that date and in that case, I look for another set of files with different date. only if the second set is not available, then script has to be failed as per my requirement... I would like to avoid the message (I guess it is not an error message just a warning.. as the script proceeds..) that the files are not found... is there a way to avoid it?

hello methyl,

parameter is the name of the parameter that I pass to the script..

Can someone please help to check if my script is missing anything like a { or anything that I could have done better or differently.. as I am new to scripting, I am asking this... thanks!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Suppres error message when moving files from empty source folder

Hi, I would like to write a shell script that moves files from one folder to another without retrieving the error 'can not acces/find file or folder' when the source folder is empty. Any ideas, Thx in advance, Steven. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Steven
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script to pick out files from a file which are older than 15 days

Hi , I have a file abc.txt which actually contains a directory and file list -rwxrwxr-x 1 dmadmin mmasapp 334 Dec 03 2001 aafs_006.ksh -rwxrwxr-x 1 dmadmin mmasapp 1270 Nov 13 2001 mcl_deposit_ftp.ksh -rwxrwxr-x 1 dmadmin mmasapp 925 Oct 31 2001 ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: viv1
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

script for Finding files in a folder and copying to another folder