Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Delete string between 3rd tab and first pattern with SED Post 302595820 by theclem35 on Sunday 5th of February 2012 10:58:09 AM
Old 02-05-2012
Hi,

It doesn't work. It give me
Code:
pattern1       pattern2       pattern3      Pattern4-which-contains-HELLO>-string-and-other-stuff-and-second-HELLO-and-third-HELLO <

Is there a way to specify 3rd tab as 1st pattern and 1st HELLO as 2nd pattern and replace everything by nothing between these two patterns ?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Trim String in 3rd Column in Tab Delimited File...SED/PERL/AWK?

Hey Everybody, I am having much trouble figuring this out, as I am not really a programmer..:mad: Datafile.txt Column0 Column1 Column2 ABC DEF xxxGHI I am running using WGET on a cronjob to grab a datafile, but I need to cut the first three characters from... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: rickdini
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Delete parts of a string of character in one given column of a tab delimited file

I would like to remove characters from column 7 so that from an input file looking like this: >HWI-EAS422_12:4:1:69:89 GGTTTAAATATTGCACAAAAGGTATAGAGCGT U0 1 0 0 ref_chr8.fa 6527777 F DD I get something like that in an output file: ... (13 Replies)
Discussion started by: matlavmac
13 Replies

3. HP-UX

How to delete specific pattern in a file with SED?

I have one file which is having content as following... 0513468211,,,,20091208,084005,5,,2,3699310, 0206554475,,,,20090327,123634,85,,2,15615533 0206554475,,,,20090327,134431,554,,2,7246177 0103000300,,,,20090523,115501,89,,2,3869929 0736454328,,,,20091208,084005,75,,2,3699546... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: ganesh.mandlik
7 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

locate a pattern and delete it using sed