Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers One liner pattern search with awk/sed/grep Post 302594495 by dixits on Tuesday 31st of January 2012 12:18:26 PM
Old 01-31-2012
One liner pattern search with awk/sed/grep

I have an array containing bunch of characters. I have to check this array for specific character and if "Not Found than" use a goto statement to go to USAGE
Code:
set options = (A B C D E F)
@ i = 0
while ($i <= ${#options})
  if ($options[$i] != "F" || $options[$i] != "D") then
  goto USAGE
 endif
@ i++
end

In above code I am looking for F and D and if not found than script goes to USAGE defined somewhere in script. I know it can be done with awk/sed/grep as one liner which I think more efficient. I am new to this and want to move away from doing things in an ancient way. Please help.
Thanks in advance

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extracting pattern only with AWK | SED | GREP

We have the following statement working in CGYWIN, but when we move the program to Solaris 10 it fails. x=`echo "ABC196925XYZ" | grep -o --only-matching "\{6\}"` How can we use AWK or SED to extract only the number from the string? The following outputs the entire string. We only want... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: James Clark
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Multiline pattern search using sed or awk

Hi friends, Could you please help me to resolve the below issue. Input file :- <Node> <username>abc</username> <password>ABC</password> <Node> <Node> <username>xyz</username> <password>XYZ</password> <Node> <Node> <username>mnp</username> ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: haiksuresh
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Awk/Sed: Search Pattern from file and Print