Sponsored Content
Homework and Emergencies Emergency UNIX and Linux Support Script to check if user can bind, then output to file Post 302594148 by otheus on Monday 30th of January 2012 03:20:54 PM
Old 01-30-2012
Use the ldap client command to bind as a user. If the command fails, you should
get nonzero exit code. If it succeeds, you should get
a zero exit code. If you can confirm this, you just
put the command in an if statement:

Quote:
if ldap_command $OPTIONS ; then cat yes.xml ; else cat
no.xml
This User Gave Thanks to otheus For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

How to allow nonroot user to bind to port 80

We are making some changes, and are now using Weblogic as the webserver on one of my projects. I would like for the non root user running Weblogic to be able to bind to port 80. (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: 98_1LE
10 Replies

2. SCO

Need Script to check whether user exists in the remote machine

Hi All, I am new to shell scripting. Can someone let me know, how to check whether the user exists in the remote system? I am building a new unix box and before I proceed installing the appliation , I want to check whether the required users are created in the system . how to do this ?... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Srini75
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Script to check for a file, check for 2hrs. then quit

I wish to seach a Dir for a specific file, once the file is found i will perform additional logic. If the file is not found within two hours, i would like to exit. Logically, I'm looking for the best way to approach this Thanks for any assistance in advance. Note: I'm using a C shell and... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: mmarsh
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

check user id before running script