Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Script to output custom characters in different order Post 302594127 by zaonline on Monday 30th of January 2012 01:47:30 PM
Old 01-30-2012
Thanx drl. I'll try to change your code to fit my need. I have no pre-knowledge off working with perl though

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

replacing characters in order to sort

hi, i want to rename all the file names in order so that they can be sorted later. For example, my filenames are like path\1, path\2...path\10, path\11. But when I sort them, it sorts by the first number, so path\1 gets sorted with path\10. I'm guessing the best way to do this is to rename... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: gammaman
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

output string in reversing order

If I have string { I_love_shell_scripts} anyone knows how to have output {stpircs_llehs_evol_I} by using shell and perl ?I know in perl, there is reverse() funcation, but can it be done by not using reverse()? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ccp
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

help removing characters for output file in shell script

hi i'm new to shell scripts and have a small problem i am running a batch converter that returns all flash .flv files in a directory and create a png image from each one the problem i have is the $1 variable , its ok on the first call but on the secound call $1.png , i have extra... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: wingchun22
1 Replies

4. HP-UX

Output of Custom package scripts to terminal

Hi, I am doing some testing with creation of depots on HP-UX systems (11.11). Want to display some echo statements based on the processing during checkinstall, pre & postinstall scripts on the terminal. The echo statements are getting directed to /var/adm/sw/swagent.log I want to display... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: vibhor_agarwali
7 Replies

5. Red Hat

Custom output on FIND