Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting not del a file not affecting other permissions Post 302592739 by sunny231 on Tuesday 24th of January 2012 05:20:56 PM
Old 01-24-2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corona688
Delete permissions aren't controlled by the file's own permissions at all, to delete a file you need write permissions on the directory it's in. Set the directory -w and you won't be able to delete it -- or create other files, for that matter.

Depending on the system and filesystem there may be other ways to control it. ext2/3/4 on linux have extended flags like immutable that can be set on files for instance.
so the command would be? chmod ????

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. HP-UX

To give the "unzip" permissions & "create" file permissions

Hi, I am a Unix Admin. I have to give the permissions to a user for creating new file in a directory in HP-Ux 11.11 system since he cannot able to create a new file in the directory. Thanks in advance. Mike (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Mike1234
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell versions affecting find?

Hi all, I just spent 30hours writing a script (my first) that makes extensive use of the find command on my mac os x terminal and which was meant to be run as a cron job on my server. The script is an automated backup system for a bunch of source control repositories. On the mac it works... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: cpower
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script that delete a File when a DEL File will be placed in same folder

Hi there, i have a question. I have a folder called /usr/test There is a file in it.... test.csv I need not a shell script that checks if there is a file called: test.del And if the file is in the same folder then the script should delete the test.csv and also the test.del. Hope... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: Bjoern28
9 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting